Pintrest Review: Mudslide Cupcakes

Mudslide Cupcake

Unfortunately this was the only picture I got of the cupcakes. There’s been better but, this will have to do.

A few weeks ago I celebrated my 23rd revolution around the sun and I decided what better way to spend it then to try my hand at making Mudslide Cupcakes.

I can’t even begin to describe to you how absolutely delicious these cupcakes turned out.

I found this recipe on Pinterst (Follow me on Pinterest!) and at first glance you are going to notice one huge difference: my frosting sucks in comparison to the professional version. And its true. It does.

As a novice I was a bit over my head with the double bag piping so after several failed attempts, I simply put a swirl of each frosting onto the cupcake and mixed them together with a fork. They weren’t as pretty but from peer reviews, the taste was superb.

Decorating aside, the recipe itself was difficult to follow, but far from impossible (even without a stand mixer!) As I ween myself off of using boxed cake mixes, I was a bit lost when it came to frothing the egg whites as well as alternating between mixing dry and wet ingredients.

Making buttercream frosting from scratch without a standmixer is a workout my arms will not soon forget. But, I must say, the end result made the workout worthwhile. The frosting is what makes these cupcakes. The blend of Kahlua and Baileys compliments the rich chocolate cupcake in such a way that..well..my mouth is literally watering thinking about it.

All in all, I give this recipe a 9/10, but they are most certainly not kid friendly. The frosting is enough to leave you with a buzz.

Did you make these? Have questions, concerns, thoughts? I’d love to hear them in the comments!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

